Engine Fault Code Check

engine problem repair

Your engine runs smoothly based on a complex system of interconnected mechanical components that work in unison. Even just a small malfunction can trigger the check engine light to signal a glitch in the system. Diagnosing an engine problem requires the skill and experience of a qualified mechanic. FaultCodeCheck.com is listed ODB , ODB-I and ODB-II codes with their meanings, reasons and how to fix them. These engine fault codes divided 4 parts : Diagnostic Body (B) Trouble Code ,Diagnostic Network (U) Trouble Code ,Diagnostic Chassis (C) Trouble Code and Diagnostic Powertrain (P) Trouble Code.

Regardless of age, mileage, make, or model, occasional engine problems are an inevitable part of car ownership. While proper maintenance may help reduce the need for car repairs it is not a guarantee that a car will not break down. As a car accumulates miles the chances of engine problems increase; however, not all engine problems are serious.

Types of OBD2 Fault Codes?

There are 2 main types of OBD2 codes, generic and manufacturer-specific.

Generic codes are universal and mutually agreed by all auto manufacturers to make sure that a generic code means the same thing on all cars from all makers.

Fault Code Check Logic :
1st digit
P = Powertrain
B = Body
C = Chassis
U = Network

2nd digit
0 = Standard
1 = Manufacturer specific
3rd digit
1 = Emission management
2 = Injector circuit
3 = Ignition
4 = Auxiliary emission
5 = Vehicle speed & idle control
6 = Computer & output circuit
7 = Transmission
Engine Image

Supported manufacturers below:

We listed ECU, OBD, OBD-II, OBDII, OBD2, Engine Torque, DTC, DME, CEL, check engine light, PID, BHP, car, automotive codes.

Common OBD Problems And Costs :

Replace catalytic converter(s): $1,376
Replace oxygen sensor(s): $246
Replace ignition coil(s) and spark plug(s): $387
Inspect for loose fuel cap and replace if necessary: $25
Replace mass airflow sensor: $346
Replace ignition coil(s): $215
Replace evaporative emissions purge control valve: $144
Replace fuel injector(s): $458
Replace evaporative emissions purge solenoid: $151
Replace thermostat: $241

These are the 10 costliest check engine-light repairs:

Replace engine block assembly: $7,438
Replace transmission and torque converter: $5,280
Replace hybrid-car battery pack: $4,330
Replace transmission assembly: $4,310
Replace cylinder head assembly: $2,625
Replace catalytic converter: $2,512
Replace ABS modulator assembly: $1,767
Replace electronic brake control module: $1,140
Replace powertrain control module: $897
Replace engine control module: $839

Each of the following sections describes a specific engine performance or driveability issue, followed by a brief explanation of the problem and the potential components and systems that might be involved in the issue.

P (powertrain) refers to the engine, transmission, fuel system, and associated accessories.

C (chassis) refers to mechanical systems generally outside the passenger compartment such as steering, suspension, and braking.

B (body) refers to parts mainly found in the passenger compartment area.

U (network) refers to the vehicle's onboard computers and related systems.

Latest Updated Fault Codes :

Most Common OBD/2 Codes :

P0420 - Catalyst System Low Efficiency - 13.2%
P0171 - Fuel Trim System Lean Bank 1 - 10.4%
P0401 - Exhaust Gas Recirculation (EGR) Flow Insufficient - 8.4%
P0174 - Fuel Trim System Lean Bank 2 - 6.8%
P0442 - Evaporative Emission (EVAP) System Small Leak Detected - 6.7%
P0300 - Engine Misfire Detected (random misfire) - 6.4%
P0455 - Evaporative Emission (EVAP) System Leak Detected (large) - 6.2%
P0440 - Evaporative Emission (EVAP) System - 5.5%
P0141 - Oxygen Sensor Heater (H02S) Performance Bank 1 Sensor 2 - 5.1%
P0430 - Catalyst System Low Efficiency Bank 2 - 3.2%
P0135 - Oxygen Sensor (HO2S) Performance Bank 1 Sensor 1 - 3.2%
P0446 - EVAP Vent Solenoid Valve Control System - 3.1%
P0128- Coolant Thermostat - 3.1%
P0301 - Cylinder 1 Misfire Detected - 3.1%
P0411 - EVAP System Control Incorrect Purge Flow - 2.8%
P0133 - Oxygen Sensor Slow Response Bank 1 Sensor 1 - 2.8%
P0303 - Cylinder 3 Misfire Detected - 2.6%
P0304 - Cylinder 4 Misfire Detected - 2.6%
P0302 - Cylinder 2 Misfire Detected - 2.6%
P0325 - PCM Knock Sensor Circuit - 2.1%

When I Use FaultCodeCheck.com ?

The Service Engine Soon light is designed to illuminate whenever a fault is detected in any of the sensors attached to the emission, engine, or powertrain controls. The purpose of the service engine soon light is to alert the driver to a potentially serious fault that requires repair. So when you see dtc code in it, you can check engine fault code in here.

The information in FaultCodeCheck.com is intended for use by trained, professional technicians with the knowledge, tools, and equipment to do the job properly and safely. It informs these technicians of conditions that may occur on some vehicles, or provides information that could assist in proper vehicle service. The OBD2 procedures should not be performed by 'do-it-yourselfers'. Do not assume that a condition described affects your car or truck.